Annual Luncheon

2019 Johnson Depression Center Luncheon sponsorships will be available for purchase soon. Single ticket purchases will be available late summer 2019. For more information contact Melissa Staten at

We welcome sponsorships from individuals and corporations.  In light of recent IRS clarifications of charitable donation rules, the CU Foundation cannot accept sponsorships from donor advised funds or private foundations unless the sponsor waives all benefits from the sponsorship, including attendance at the sponsored event.        

2018 Luncheon Recap

We are grateful to have so many passionate advocates for mental health in our community. At the sold out 2018 Annual Luncheon, we brought together more than 700 people in support of mental health care, research and community programs in Colorado and the Rocky Mountain West.

This year’s theme, #Hooked: How Technology Impacts Mental Health, addressed smartphones, social media and stress with Jean Twenge, PhD, author of iGen, and Nir Eyal, author of Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products.

With the help of our community, we are further expanding our reach to individuals of all ages, families and communities and we are taking steps that position us to serve many more of those in need of high-quality mental health care in the years ahead.

This past year, we’ve trained more than 7,000 community members on topics including suicide prevention, mindfulness, stress management and self-care. We completed over 8,500 clinical visits at the Center. We also opened the Steven A. Cohen Military Family Clinic serving as a resource to military veterans and their families. We consistently expand our care to new areas and new populations throughout Colorado.

KUSA 9NEWS: Researchers discuss link between smartphone use, teen suicide at the CU Johnson Depression Center's Annual Luncheon.

#Hooked: 2018 Helen & Arthur E. Johnson Depression Center Annual Luncheon Video

#Hooked: Annual Luncheon Discussion Video with Experts Jean Twenge and Nir Eyal

Thank you to our 2018 Sponsors!

Presenting Sponsor
Justyn and Scott Shwayder

Bridget and John Grier
Virginia and Scott Reiman

Heather and Jimmy Mulvihill
The Anschutz Foundation

Kathy and Brad Coors Foundation
Frederic C. Hamilton Family Foundation
Enid and Crosby Kemper Foundation, UMB Bank, n.a. Trustee
The Precourt Foundation/Amanda Precourt
Sue and Walt Rakowich
Ann and Kevin Reidy, Marcy and Bruce Benson
Mary and George Sissel

Ann Ayers and Mark Ritacco
Bailey-Standford Family Foundation
The Buckley Family
Rachel and Tim Comfort
The Cross H. Foundation, Bill and Michele Bergner
Katey and Lee Driscoll, Anne and Dave Hanson, Lydia and John Woodard
Kathleen Eck, JD and Jack Eck, MD and Martha Head
Cannon Y. and Lyndia K. Harvey
Courtney and Mark Hughes
Tad Herz
JPMorgan Chase & Co
Susan Milhoan
Maeve and Pete Perry



Brown and Company



Kendra and Eric Black
Caerus Oil and Gas
Cardan Capital Partners
Children’s Hospital Colorado Foundation
CoBiz Financial
Kathy Cole
Heather Ehret-Faircloth
Andi Freyer and Healy Parks
Hilary and Adam Haynes
Merril Lenton and Andrew Armatas
The Mental Health Center of Denver
Carol and Dirk McDermott
Elizabeth Peros
The Robertson Family Foundation
The Scott Family Foundation/Fiona Scott Mechem
Sherman & Howard LLC
Leslie and Paul Stratton
Kathy Tyree and Tolly Tate
Laura Gibson Smith, Jennifer and Sean Waters






UMB Bank

VIP Patron Benefactors
Robin Beery and Jane Ingalls
Janelle and Buck Blessing
Sherri and Buz Koelbel
Susan and Howard Noble
Karen and Jim Possehl

2018 Luncheon Committee
Ann Benson Reidy | Kathy Coors | Courtney Dorn Hughes | Bridget Grier | Hilary Haynes | Heather Miller | Heather Mulvihill, MS, MA, LPC  | Elizabeth Peros | Pete Perry | Susan Rakowich | Virginia Reiman | Scott Shwayder | Carol Solich | Connie Wiegers